Preparedness Notes for Wednesday – September 06, 2017

SurvivalBlog Notes

September 6th, 1757 is the birthday of Marquis de Lafayette (often known simply as Lafayette), a French aristocrat and military officer who fought in the American Revolutionary War. He was a close friend of George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, and Thomas Jefferson. George Washington met him through his connections in the Free Masons and was impressed with him. After he offered to serve without pay, Congress commissioned him as a Major General and he was an integral part of the battle at Brandywine. He also endured the hardships with George Washington when encamped at Valley Forge.




Preventing Failure to Communicate- Part 2, by JMD

Failure to Communicate

We’re continuing to evaluate how to prevent a failure to communicate in the event that our normal, electronic communications equipment are not available to us. Yesterday, we looked as some definitions and began defining our own communications requirements. With that in mind, let’s move forward.

Options

Now that you’ve (hopefully) thought a little bit about what your communications requirements might be, let’s take a look at some possible options for the various elements.

Sender/Recipient

As I mentioned earlier, the best starting point for figuring out a communications strategy is by making a list of everyone it will need to support. For a smaller group, like a family, this may simply involve a list of all of the people in the family. However, what if an emergency arises that requires you to call for help from your neighbors? Make the list as complete as possible, and allow for potential future additions. … Continue reading




Economics & Investing For Preppers

Shrinking Dollar

Here are the latest items and commentary on current economics news, market trends, stocks, investing opportunities, and the precious metals markets. We also cover hedges, derivatives, and obscura. And it bears mention that most of these items are from the “tangibles heavy” contrarian perspective of JWR. (SurvivalBlog’s Founder and Senior Editor.) Today’s focus is on the Dollar Downturn. (See the Forex section.)

Precious Metals:

Gold Advances 2.5% on Week, Silver Surges 4.5%

o  o  o

Gold Breakout & Upside Price Targets

 

Stocks:

Next, at Seeking Alpha, there is this: September 2017 Stock Considerations

o  o  o

At CNBC: Dow closes more than 200 points lower, posts its worst day since August 17. (Warning: Has auto-start video.)

 

Commodities:

On to this piece at Platts: Key trends impacting … Continue reading




JWR’s Recommendations of the Week

Forged in Blood

Here are JWR’s Recommendations of the Week for various media and tools of interest to SurvivalBlog readers. This week the focus is on the fiction anthology book Forged in Blood. It was edited and co-authored by  SurvivalBlog’s Editor At Large, Michael Z. Williamson.

Books (Forged In Blood):

Forged in Blood. This is an anthology of military short stories. Some of the  stories are directly or indirectly related to Michael Z. Williamson’s Freehold series. It was just released on September 5th. It features all-new stories by Michael Z. Williamson, Larry Correia, Tom Kratman, Tony Daniel, Micahel Massa, Peter Grant, John F. Holmes, and many others.) Note: There is some crude language and descriptions of violent combat, so this book is not for kids. The editors of Kliatt describe the book: “A fast-paced, compulsive read . . . will appeal to fans of John Ringo, David Drake, Lois McMaster … Continue reading